RSS

The Beginning

11 Feb

Let’s start at the beginning. It was early September 2014 and I was peeing onto a stick. My clockwork regular Aunt Flo was 2 days delayed. When you have been trying to conceive for 6 odd months with no result you trust yourself to fail more than succeed.

I was having severe vertigo for 10 odd days and my body was pumped full of stemetil.

Slowly 2 lines appeared on the stick. The second so faint it could have easily been an evaporation line.

I am an engineer. I needed conclusive proof.

I had told my husband on the phone the previous day if he could get one of those pregnancy test kits. So he had. Got me exactly one pregnancy test kit. So I waited another 24 hours. And sent the husband with clear instructions to get multiple tests from different manufacturers please.

2 days of consecutive testing later I had a collection big fat positives.

There is something unbelievable about being pregnant. It’s difficult to wrap your head around the fact that you have a new human being growing inside of you. At the same time you want to scream it from the rooftops (and you can’t because you know you have to wait for a 12 week viability period)

We only told our moms. Because they had to know. And we wanted to share this joy, this secret with someone.

My mom called it my greatest achievement.

Nice. 30 years of existence validated by a fertilized egg.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
