RSS

When salt and pepper no longer refers to a band in pre-MTV era

01 Nov

I recently went to a club. After 2 years and stood out like a sore thumb for not having matchstick for legs  and not fashioning my clothes out of a handkerchief. I was the aunty in the club. You know the ones I made fun of when I was 21. You know desperately trying to be cool and “in”. But I wasn’t always like this. Once upon a time I used to look forward to a night of dancing and booze which got covered under entry charges. Hey my friends and I had to be dragged off the dance floor much after all female population would have vacated the area in insti parties.

There was a time when male attention was not hard to come by.  Ahh those were the days.

The days of jumping over hostel gate to go for a party.

The days of staying up all night flirting on the PPO road.

The days of going to bed at 6AM and waking for dinner the next day.

The days of insisting that you need to sleep in the loo after having a little too much.

Those were the days. They were awesome. And they are over.

Welcome to the days of loan payoffs, office politics and pants. Yes once an optionality under a long dress- now a necessity.Maybe I should be happy-men who would make eyes at me now are definitely going for the personality. I still go to bed at 6 AM but thats mostly to save my job. And all I get from having too much these days is a good nights sleep.

And yes today morning after checking my hair in the mirror I could finally give my dad a taste of his own medicine.

“yeh baal na dhup main safed nahi hue hain”.

So there is a silver lining after all. Even if just “on” my head.

 

 

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “When salt and pepper no longer refers to a band in pre-MTV era

  1. Seema

    November 1, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Nice post!
    i can imagine myself writing similar kind of post after few years! n thats called life! 🙂

     
  2. Saumya

    November 2, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Ohh soo identify with this.. except the matchstick legs 🙂 .. I could put any guy to shame in downing vodka tequila rum beer all at once and still be the last woman standing.. and now a glass of wine is enought to send me straight to bed for an 8 hr sleep!

     
  3. Sarah

    November 10, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Hi !

    I like your blog writing very much! I work for a Swedish social media company which has clients in India as well. I am looking for some great food and wine blog writers. Our members attend food and wine tasting events for free and blog about them and their blogs are linked to our european and Indian websites. If you would like to know more or be a membrer and attend our events in India, please reply to me at sarah@spotandtell.se
    Look forward for your reply.

    Sarah Jones

     
  4. arpz

    November 10, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Sigh, wait till u get married n have a kid!

     
  5. IM_VI

    November 16, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Most predictable destiny of a woman 😦

     
  6. CM-Chap

    November 23, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Ha Ha, some1 going thru gr8 memories.. get back to reality 😛

    ROFL for this…. The days of insisting that you need to sleep in the loo after having a little too much.

     
  7. Atul

    December 25, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    🙂 nice one
    u r the only one who is keeping the blogging community alive.

     

Leave a Reply

 
