RSS

Girl, Insane

09 Jul

Have you ever had a moment in your life when all common sense seem to have deserted you? Where a decision had to be made in a split second and you went ahead and chose what can be only mildly termed as stupidis spectacular?

So one such day Sur(my gal pal) and me where on a fast local to Churchgate from the suburbs. Now for those who have been lucky enough never to board a Mumbai local a fast train stops at selective stations only. At that time this was a route both of us used to travel on every single day and our skills at elbowing competition on a local unparalleled. We reached Mumbai central in no time and there were exactly 3 stations between Central and Churchgate. However so busy were we in our chatter we did not pay any heed to repeated announcements to us sitting on a special train which will now stop at Churchgate directly.

The next station arrived, the train emptied and new people scrambled in. We were oblivious in our girly banter. The train started pulling out and I glanced out and said ” This looks like Churchgate station”. Sur immediately said “We need to get off” and both of us ran to the exit.

The events that happened next is in registered in bullet time in my head.

The train was picking up speed. Sur jumped out . I was still inside. I began to think. I could travel to Central and catch a train back or I could in all my clumsy self jump out of the now speeding train and break my head. There was the background score of people saying “nahi, ruko..dont jump” from the compartment. And there was me- the epitome of risk averseness who doesnt even take a chance of 0.01% in anything in her life. I jumped. There is contact between concrete and my generous behind. Some scraping of elbows. Some people are laughing at me, some scolding, some rushing to pick me up.

Back to real time.

When I look back I can see the number of things that could have gone wrong-fatal or life maiming. I could have also been more elegant and not provided hours of laughing material for people on the platform as I lay splayed there.

I have no idea why on earth some body as timid as me would dare to jump out of a running train to save the effort of going to the next station and turning back. There is no explanation but it was a true moment of madness as the folks at Blogadda would say.

In association with Pringoo! of course.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Girl, Insane

  1. Abby

    July 9, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    Wow! I’m glad you survived that =D

     
  2. Ramanathan Kannan

    July 10, 2010 at 1:39 am

    Reasons : 1. Crazy Impulse ? 2. The Devil’s hand ? 3. It happens 🙂

     
  3. shraddha

    July 10, 2010 at 5:02 am

    omg..i am glad you were lucky enough and nothing happened!

     
  4. Smita

    July 10, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Don’t tell me u really were this stupid?? I mean how could you???

    Even though u have narrated it here in a funny way but after having travelled so much in local I must say that what you did was outright stupid!!!

     
  5. Rohit

    July 10, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    “To stop the train, pull the chain” Was that never an alternative?

     
  6. Neo Kluber

    July 13, 2010 at 6:08 am

    holy grail, glad you are ok! For once it was not under your control. Your brain’s decision engine took a decision based on the least coslty path. Replaying past experiences via hippocampus, it concluded travelling to another station on a Mumbai local to be more torturous than jumping off. Skewed decision but pure chemistry my dear

     
  7. Shankha

    July 14, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Luck saved you. Really mad moment!

     
  8. Someone Is Special

    July 14, 2010 at 7:55 am

    That was a great attempt.. I enjoyed it..

    Saravana Kumar M – Moment of Madness.

    Yours Frendly,
    Saravana Kumar M

     

Leave a Reply

 
