RSS

You may not have a life but I do!

10 Apr

There is time in your life when you need to pause and think “Are you outta your freaking mind?” It should have come when I was spending my life looking at 14″ monitor displaying MS Outlook and partial hearing loss in the left ear because the phone has become an extension of my form. Slowly I had started achieving the perfect work life balance..work was becoming the only life I knew. But when an irate colleague decided that my inability to take on a new development request at 12-freaking-o-clock in the night was a direct reflection of my ability to work, my body rebelled before my mind could-throwing up whatever I had ingested in the twisted sleep cycle and I decided to take a a couple of days off. And not obsessively check my laptop every 5 seconds.

It was bliss. It was torturous. But I think it can be done.

I seriously need to say no. I need to stop covering up other people’s idiocy and their mediocre work.And I need to reclaim my life back.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “You may not have a life but I do!

  1. Rohit

    April 10, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Go for it!

     
  2. adarkcomedycalledlife

    April 11, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    This might be your realization of a lifetime. As it was for me, about 6 months back. I’m still in the reclamation process. I wish you all the best 🙂

     
  3. NeoKluber

    April 12, 2010 at 5:22 am

    do say no grail, otherwise it will consume you and it’ll be too late when you realize your life has been taken away from you – happened with me for years and I had to say no finally to save myself. Same story – you believe in being your best in everything you do, help colleagues, soon it becomes a norm, people take you for granted. I now follow my western colleague’s policies – after 6pm I may answer my phone at my will, if I do, even if its the CEO, I expect the first word I hear to be an apology

     
  4. Arpz

    April 12, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    hmm, I guess it happens to all of us. and then we have to force ourselves to get out of it. well, hope you do overcome your obsessive “have. to. check. my. email. once. every. 5. mins” soon.
    u wldnt believe it if I told ya, i underwent a surgery kinda thingy in the morning, and was up and checking emails and attending conference calls from the hospital by the time the anesthetic wore away… I dont think much has changed from that day to today though …

     
  5. Ujwal

    April 13, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Do tell me how you doin it !

     

Leave a Reply

 
