RSS

Not such an idiot really

14 Jan

Little late in the day, arent we-to wish a new year and then have post with a title which is obviously a play at movie being touted as “the” most successful in the history of Bollywood and which when I claim I found quite mediocre am promptly reprimanded of “failing to understand” and “being uhhmm snooty”.

I mean I really liked the movie-I laughed when Raju tells Virus exactly how an induction motor starts (Brrrrrrr..) despite it being the oldest joke in the internet, I nodded my head vigorously when Farhan says he just cant understand engineering however hard he tries (been there pal-every mechanics/physics class felt other worldly) but i cringed and cringed when a 40 year old playing a 20 year old delivered a baby through a vacuum pump. I am all for suspended disbelief, heck I must be one of the few people who actually err..enjoyed Gajini because that was hyper reality anyways-you couldnt believe any of it actually happened. But when you tout something as a mirror to our ailing education system why blow what you achieved through humor with ridiculous flights of fantasy.

So anyhow, I belong to the large number of people who pass out of engineering college every year who would have been so much happier if they had pursued fine arts. But when you are born into a middle class south Indian family there are only two professions in the world-doctor or engineer. Anything else is well just not good enough. It would be easier for me now to say my parents wanted that-it was their dream they lived through me. It would be so easy to shed a tear at an awesome career in say ad making I would have had. But I really do believe that is akin to washing my hands off any responsibility I have to myself.

Growing up I loved my arts and I loved my literature but more than those I loved a certain yuppy class of youngsters who were taking the Indian economy by storm. They were ambitious, newly rich and worked in companies like Google,Amazon in “the States”. They were the new growth engine of the country-they were software engineers. And I wanted to be part of it-part of that lifestyle that was guarenteed with that profession. A fine arts bachelors degree from a top DU college where I got admit didnt hold a candle to the Infosys job I saw at the end of 4 years of engineering. So I packed my bags and my dreams and went to my engineering degree in a non descript part of the country.

Of course life followed cliche after cliche were I struggled with subjects I didnt understand, appreciate or love. But all those do not matter in the Indian education system where the only real skill tested is your memory, which I had in plenty. Life offered a second chance to me where I could have left the tried and tested and persued what I want for my masters. But I couldnt. Doing what I enjoy is a small price to pay for secure career. And some part of me craved that success much more than writing books or making ad films. These were also my dreams to own a big house and big car and vacation with my loved ones around the globe. I could not throw those dreams away to chase a more selfish dream which really had no guarantees with it. So I played safe. It was a choice I made.

Every single day life gives me a chance to give up what I have to persue what I want. And every day I turn down that chance because what I have today is also something I desired once.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Not such an idiot really

  1. Mumbai Diva

    January 14, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    very very nice post. so many of us make choices based on a lifestyle we see for us, or because we want to play it safe. but i like the way you’ve adjusted to it.

     
    • WSW

      January 16, 2010 at 11:50 am

      I am the queen of rationalization of past actions 🙂

       
  2. SG

    January 14, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Wow .. very well said/written.

    On a personal note, whos stopping you to go write that book that you always wanted to write? I would buy it for sure. Go do it!

     
    • WSW

      January 16, 2010 at 11:52 am

      The time that should have been spent fine tuning English language is currently spent spent supervising languages like Java and Pearl

       
  3. chetan bhagat

    January 14, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    its a very stupid movie! it has its funny moments like the balatkaar speech but its definitely not something which todays youngsters should look upto!

    follow your dream as a concept itself is overrated coz at that age everybody wants to be rockstars or moviestars!

     
  4. sunil

    January 16, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Its never too late to do what you want to do. You still have time to go back Thats my advice..

     
    • WSW

      January 16, 2010 at 11:54 am

      The point is-maybe I dont want to. Its great to romanticize what could be, but I have got where I have through a lot of hard work because I wanted this too,so why throw it all away?

       
  5. Atlee

    January 16, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    U have provided a very practical solution to the restless heart which pops up once in a while asking you why did you not do what u are best at.

    But yes, at the age which it matters we had only those 2 choices. Todays things are slightly better…

     
  6. Saumya

    January 20, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    You have a great corporate career and a witty and widely read blog !I would say you have best of both your dreams :):)!!

     
  7. wishesgalore

    April 10, 2010 at 10:44 am

    first timer at your blog!!
    loved this post of yours and how cant I? being an engineer myself and feedding myself with literature and blogs, I can totally relate to it..:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
