RSS

And just like that..

22 Oct

..I got my Mojo back.

Lets just say one quick tour of my “friends list” on any social networking site reveals “committed”,”engaged” or “married” updates. Now I can either pretend that “haha, marriage is for chumps” and go about my life or I could face the mirror and ask myself why the heck is it bothering me that my status has not changed lets see…from the past so many years except a brief bout of blissful singledom in between.

Today I was talking to another unmarried friend and we discussed how it doesnt matter that we have a better bank balance than most men have, we have good careers and are fun, interesting people. All that comes to a naught because if-she-is-not-married-yet-there-must-be-something-wrong-with-her.

And when I was busy dissing people for always following up a “hi” with a “so when are you settling down” I realised the maximum pressure was being put on me by myself. My parents havent really bugged me, all my really close friends are unmarried, the person I want to marry eventually isnt too keen right now-then why the hell am I battering myself by comparing myself to others getting hitched.

Its not a competition even if people keep comparing you to other in-campus romances. They did what suited them and you are doing what suits you. Just like some one chose “derivatives and structures” and I took “international marketing”.

After so many months I have finally found peace in knowing I am okay doing my own thing and him doing his thing. The only thing I really miss is the company we give each other in going to new places, trying new things. And that has nothing to do with “where are we going with this” , its more because there is a 1000kms of physical distance between us and a JetLight ticket also costs 12k one way.

And before I lash at anyone else for judging me, I have got to stop judging myself. I have to stop thinking that the final proof of my “achiever” status is to have a ring on my finger and a chain on my neck. In thinking all this I am losing precious self time where I can do so much for myself.

Its just a number twenty-five not a death toll to jump or perish. I dont know why I have penned something so personal without hiding it in obtuse poetry, but I actually feel a weight lift of my shoulders once I put my life in perspective.

No more self inflicted misery. I need to learn to swim, dance and drive a car before I jump into some well of self loathing. On that note-first car-alto vs xing vs i10?

 
27 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

27 responses to “And just like that..

  1. what

    October 22, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Marriage is a commitment.
    if this bf of yours tomm disappears saying that his family is not ready or hes has found someone else blah blah…then you are doomed.
    its just nice when somebody actually makes that commitment

    on a sidenote…Maruti Ritz is the best!

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      so what exactly are you saying?I should trust not trust, commit not commit?

       
  2. Saurabh Garg

    October 22, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I say .. Wagon R!

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      it really is a wagon on wheels.

       
  3. Tara

    October 23, 2009 at 1:35 am

    I went for Xing for my first.. you may select I10/20 but dont go for Alto..

    Nice self talk, am sure it helped you feel better 🙂
    one reason to worry would hv been there if you were to think “will I find someone whom i will want to marry” but since your post indicates that you already have one such person in life, i would say enjoy life.. do all those things you have enlisted.. life is fun after marriage too but there are choices one has to make and even though you make them willingly, its not the same as before… So my two cents are – make the best use of ‘now’ while you can keep looking forward too..

    First time here, came bloghopping, going off to read lil more here.

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      welcome to my space(even if i say it one month late 🙂 )

       
  4. Pragnya Pandey

    October 23, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Hey!
    believe me when I say this that I completely agree with every word you say here. 🙂 m facing the same dilemma and am almost in the same boat as you. M so glad you wrote this here.
    I have noticed that a lot of women from our school batch have yet to marry. and that is so liberating. Notice how all of us are working hard at our careers and experimenting with what we want to do before getting married.
    25 is a very big number, in a way that lets us think back and see how far we have come from where we started and we still have a long long way to go.
    Swim, dance and drive. I struck thess as ‘done’ on my list about 2 yrs back, and am working towards more.
    I suggest a xing, (maybe biased coz dats wot i boought) but its a great car nevertheless.
    cheers!

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      get into HR woman if you are not already. or teaching.

       
  5. anamika

    October 23, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Hi,

    Hope you are doing well! This is Anamika Tiwari Chief Editor at Webneetech.com. At present we are interviewing entrepreneurs and now we are starting another section to feature (interview) bloggers and their blog on webneetech.com

    Would like to feature your interview on our website.

    I was not able to find any contact details of yours so using this comment box. Please let me know your email id or else contact us on i.webneetech@gmail.com, so that we can send you the questionnaire and feature you on webneetech.com Please visit http://www.webneetech.com to know more about us.

    Regards,
    Anamika
    Webneetech.com

     
  6. Mumbai Diva

    October 24, 2009 at 11:41 am

    🙂

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

      hope the notice period is going well 🙂

       
  7. Saumya

    October 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I think i10 !..zippy car, kappa engine, love the beige interiors and the car is quite roomy plus if you are planning to take a loan then might as well up it by a lakh or so and get the i10!

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

      yes i did 🙂

       
  8. IM VI

    October 26, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Wrong side of 25 only and you have such thots , even if BF wants , banish such thots for atleast a couple of years.

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:26 pm

      guy? i thought so…

       
  9. Jeet

    October 26, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    chill i say… if u dont need to get married now, why are u thinking of it now 🙂 … why do u want to enter our club so soooon ? 😀 have some more fun being single 🙂

    BTW : i 10 is the best for u 😉

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:27 pm

      people indulging in child marriage should be last to talk 😛

       
  10. D

    October 27, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    First things first – i10.

    And about marriage, well, it’s all peer presssure even though it may not seem like your peers are putting pressure on you at all. If you can fight it, you’ll be doing what you want to and not what you’re expected to.

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:27 pm

      i know!i was the one putting maximum pressure on self!

       
  11. anamika

    October 28, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Hi,

    Hope you are doing well! This is Anamika Tiwari from Webneetech.com. At present we are interviewing entrepreneurs and now we are starting another section to feature (interview) bloggers and their blog on webneetech.com

    We find your blog bit interesting and would like to feature your interview on our website.

    I was not able to find any contact details of yours so using this comment box. Please let me know your email id or else contact us on i.webneetech@gmail.com, so that we can send you the questionnaire and feature you on webneetech.com Please visit http://www.webneetech.com to know more about us.

    Regards,
    Anamika
    Webneetech.com

     
  12. CM-Chap

    October 30, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Hmm… Every time I say “Hi” in instant messenger this is the question i face..sply frm my frnds in India. I never thought about Marriage and I’m fine being single but nvr understand why it bothers others.

    Once my Gtalk status was… “Happy as Single, Not ready to Mingle” ;).

    Well..finally I started learning Dance.. and wrote a blog about it too 🙂

    I would go for i10

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:30 pm

      yes-how are you is simultaneously followed by so what plans of settling down.

      i am settled thank you very much 🙂

      saw sky-dive snaps on your blog.awesome!

       
  13. dr sudhir shah

    November 2, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    visit : http://astrologerdrsudhirshah.blogspot.com/
    thanks,god bless you

     
  14. Arpz

    November 9, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    🙂 babes, take a chill pill. Life is too precious to waste it over marriage, and if someone who’s married is sayin this, obviously there’s some truth to it, aint it?

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:31 pm

      ur the best!

       
  15. Roop Rai

    November 19, 2009 at 8:46 am

    you’ll always do the right thing, wsw!! 🙂 we trust you!

    and jes, i am back to blogging.

    missed ya!

     
    • WSW

      November 29, 2009 at 10:31 pm

      what back?disappeared again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
