RSS

Airport sagas

23 Aug

So long time see ehh??

So we are back in namma Bengaluru. Not before we were introduced to a concept they call excess baggage.

Now this concept assumes serious proportions when one is allowed 20kgs on board but when one weighs the suitcases which come to whopping 45kgs discounting two stuffed about to burst at seams polys holding everything from yoga mat to newspaper basket.

Why did I buy the things I can get for much cheaper price in India from Singapore? One word my friend. It was on SALE. (four words, details..phhffft..)

Anyhow the airline website mentioned vaguely about excess baggage being 0.015% on highest economy fare of the sector. Highly helpful information considering I had no clue what the highest economy fare was. Calls were made to airline counter from 3 different metros in India (but not the one where I was heading to) and all three came up with 3 different rates. However each of the rates meant I was about to pay in 5 digits as excess luggage.

Many bottles of shampoos, shower gells were unceremoniously discarded on receiving this information.

Many friends came up with suggestions.

  1. Reach early and smile at the lady at the counter and then later make sad face when asked for excess charge
  2. Reach early and make eyes at single Indian engineer with only cabin luggage and request him to check in some as his.
  3. Reach early and pay excess luggage.

The common factor in all suggestions was to reach early. Which I did for my 6 am flight. Full 2 hours before take off. To be told the flight will now take off at 8.

I used this opportunity to look for single Indian engineer with only cabin luggage. However all single Indian engineers seemed to want to bring one Sony Bravia 32” LCD home. Also crotch fitting jeans and loud conversations in Bhojpuri ensured I took my luggage and sat in a corner.

Finally counter opened. It was either suggestion 1 or suggestion 3 now. Or suggestion 1 followed by suggestion3.

I was the first one in line.

I checked in 30kgs.

I prayed to half of the million Gods we have.

Lady cuts the ticket , pauses and then says” Gate E20, boarding begins at 7”

I grab the boarding pass and run into immigrations.

With my laptop bag and a big polythene trailing behind.

I am so happy I almost bought 2 new bags.Almost.

Boarding time. I sit next to 2 mushtande uncles. As usual.

Except mushtande uncles help me lift my 15kg cabin luggage.

Keep my immigration form and lunch safely till I finish my sleep.

I wake up, eat and promptly go back to sleep.

Wake up again to see they have cleared my table as well.

And when the plane lands, they get down my heavy duty luggage without me asking any help.

All this without despo attempts to strike up conversations or “know me better” in any way.

Wow or what??

However the day would soon change trends when I would reach Bengaluru and start out on the next major task of my life-Finding a house for WSW.

However to those who may be interested. Much chocolate was bought to be distributed. Much chocolate at this point is residing between throat and digestive tract as they wait for their green card clearance for permanent settlement on hips.

The bags and shoes bought are yet to see light of day. Running to catch Volvo in the morning over potholes in 3” doesn’t make much sense, does it? New perfume ensures I smell like candy all day.

Sometimes I want to eat myself.

Maybe I should stop. Now.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Airport sagas

  1. Saurabh Garg

    August 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Welcome back 🙂

     
  2. Arpz

    August 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

    welcome to namma bengalooru. be sure to leave some choclate for moi. lemme know where u are put up so we can meet and I can hog chochlates.

    btw. new post up, so no reasons not to meet 😉

     
  3. Ann

    August 25, 2009 at 10:53 am

    YAY!!!! the excess baggage issue wasnt there….i did that for my 30 kgs…i told her i was the student going back home and its all books… welcome back welcome back…we need to catch up on chat…

     
  4. Mumbai Diva

    August 25, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    😀

    such a pleasure to read your blog. always.

     
  5. Smita

    August 25, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Lucky you!!! Don’t u regret throwing those items?? May be you could have sneaked-in them as well 🙂

    Am sure u must be yearning to open those items 😀

     
  6. Amit pal

    August 25, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    The Chocolate part was hilarious to say the least!! Moreover am not surprised that u met jolly good uncles who did not have oh-let-us-know each other attitude… Good boyz do exist 

    Cheers,
    Kakkey!!!

     
  7. mehar

    September 1, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Hello Friend,  Hope everything is fine.
    I am a researcher from psychology department. Interested in bloggers and their behavior. My  research topic is “Blogging Improves Self-Identity”.  In connection with my research I need your help.  If you spare your mail id, I will be sending  the research questionnaire’s to your mail Id.   You can give your responses to the questionnaire. My mail Id is meharun@gmail.com. Kindly cooperate in this survey. Your response will be used only for research purpose.  To end with friendly note, I am always ready to help you if you have any queries or doubts related to psychology. Thank you.
     
    Meharunnisha
    Doctoral Candidate
    Dept of Psychology
    Bharathiar University
    Coimbatore – 641046
    Tamil Nadu, India
    meharun@gmail.com

     
  8. CM-Chap

    September 11, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Ha Ha.. Welcome to Bengaluru… You shd be glad they did not call you also as excess baggage..lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
