RSS

Dreams that keep you awake.

14 Jun

“It’s about sex, love, relationships, careers, a time in your life when everything’s possible. And it’s about friendship because when you’re single and in the city, your friends are your family.” —The original treatment used by Crane, Kauffman and Bright to pitch the series(FRIENDS) to NBC.

I have highlighted the part that struck me as the truest.

I am 25.I am at a time of my life when everything is possible. What I want I can do? I have the energy, the optimism, and most importantly the time to do it. Two years-five years down the line, things will change irreparably and the responsibilities would be too huge to live a life for myself.

Over the last few days all of a sudden I am feeling life rushing past me. I just want it to stop and turn it around. I feel time is slipping out my hands. The window where every thing, every dream had a shot at being realized is closing irreversibly.

I have spent 18 years of my life cramming and giving exams and getting good grades. And by looks of it the next 18 trying to get a better appraisal, some loans and cultivating an ulcer.

Some friends, the boy we discuss how we had dreamed so much for ourselves and now slowly are accepting a totally different life as reality.

This doesn’t mean we are writhing in unhappiness. Hell, we are so much better off than 99% of people in the world. We work in good places, in good positions for our comparatively young age, earn enough to dream about luxurious things in times of recession.

Yet we feel we could have done so much more. Do our own thing, chosen a very different creative line to follow. Travel. Meet. See. Read. Explore.

And this is the only time we can do those things. This is the only time we can make mistakes and recover from them. Our only chance to not be another face in the crowd. Find our true voice. And that time is going away. We are changing each day into the people we will be the rest of our lives-world weary and accepting the circumstances around us than trying to change them. We are too conventional, too molded in socially acceptable behavior to really be free spirited individuals after this time passes. 365 days-that is all a year has.24 hours-that is all a day has.

I was listening to Randy Pausch’s wonderful lecture on how he achieved each of his childhood dreams and that is what makes his life remarkable for him. And I thought well, I have a long way to go. The catch 22 is all those dreams need time which a regular job cant leave you with and money which only a regular job can provide. Or are these just brick walls there to test how badly I want those dreams? And which ones I want the most badly?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Dreams that keep you awake.

  1. Ava

    June 14, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Life is all about balance. To always make time for travel meet see read explore.

     
  2. spamwarrior

    June 15, 2009 at 12:20 am

    What Ava said. I’m still trying to find that balance myself.

     
  3. IM_VI

    June 15, 2009 at 10:57 am

    If you feel that you are already better than 99 % of the population , then chances are that the time will indeed fly past and before you realize spouse , in -laws and kiddo will take over..

     
  4. Mumbai Diva

    June 15, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I was at Hard Rock Cafe last night. I don’t know why but watching a whole lot of 20 somethings dancing with gay abandon made me feel very sad about a whole lot of things I could have done more with my life.

    yeah! so go ahead and do everything that you want to…..

     
  5. Amrit

    June 15, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Very true!! I can relate so well with your post. I am 25 and even I feel this is the best time to live life to the fullest before we get drowned in the swamp of responsibilities.

    But there is something missing..at the end of every day, I feel I should have done this or rather I shall do this tomorrow..but it just never get materialize.

     
  6. Smita

    June 15, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    When I was a kid I used to dream that I will study hard and have a lovely job which will pay me well, will give me ample time to sit at home & read nd do things which I wud want to. I have a job but do I have the time?? Nah!! Till 4 PM today I was enjoying my work when somebody spoiled it by telling me that Job cuts are round the corner!!!

    It is life!!!!

     
  7. kanupriya

    June 16, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    “The catch 22 is all those dreams need time which a regular job cant leave you with and money which only a regular job can provide”…Couldn’t agree more with u.
    U know when I was a kid, I used to wonder when will I grow up to earn enough money to buy any kind of book which I want. In fact I used to dream about spending my whole salary in some nice book shop with a comfy cafe. Today with all the money & everything around, I can definitely buy any book which I want to read but don’t have the time to read more than 1 book a month!

     
  8. Bullshee

    July 1, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Join the “I-am-young-with-no-wrinkles-or-diabetes-but-still-love-cribbing-about-what-I-haven’t-done-with-life” club!

    I am Senior Vice President of the club, a role I have created because I am peeved that I haven’t achieved it real life already. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
