RSS

Its not just a phone, its who we are!

03 Jun

There is the drowning nightmare. There is the going for important meeting naked nightmare. And then there is the day without cellphone nightmare.

Maybe in a twisted sense I am lucky I got to live the third one and not the other two.

Honestly, I am to technology what anti-matter is to matter, Lex Luthur is to Clark Kent.Arch enemy.The nemesis.

Sample this:

Boy: I want the iPhone.

Me: Ek dum bakwaas hain, no Bluetooth, no forwarding,2 mpx camera!!

Boy: But 3G hain na?

Me: Jo India main nai hain!!And its soo expensive!! There are so many better phones from Nokia. Just see na.

Boy(waiting for such a slip): I want the E71.

Me: why?

Boy: I will check mails on my phone.

Me: you can check mails on your laptop.

Boy: I can type with Qwerty keys.

Me: you can type that on your laptop.

Boy: I will take your pictures on the 3.5 mpx camera and make it my wallpaper.

Me: okay.Lets buy it.

Men. Silly creatures.

Anyways digressing.

I don’t remember life before the cellphone. Hell, for a very long time we didn’t even have a landline. I mean how on earth did we survive not knowing

  • New Himesh songs available for download for free. Call charges Rs 6/pm
  • Janiye apne bhavishye ke bare main. SMS “bhav” followed by DoB to 6655.
  • Do you think Katrina Kaif should still be with Salman?Type Y or N and send to 6655

And what about the moment you switch your phone on after reaching a new city/state. The first people welcoming you and inquiring after your safety by bombarding your inbox  isn’t your mommy-daddy or chachi from Chhattisgarh but

“Welcome to Hastianpur. XYZ now provides national roaming at 1 rupees only.”

Ahh. One can never be connected enough. So imagine in such yug and such technologically advanced age (where planes just drop off radars. Digress. Digress)

I spent not one, but two days without a cellphone.

The ear missed what has become its plastic extension, the palm involuntarily went to the ear, the fingers twitched…the withdrawl symptoms…

Seriously, I realized how dependent we are on this tiny machinery.

  • I had no alarms system in place.Usually my mom is the backup alarm who checks if I have woken up by calling. But this was simultaneous failure of mains and backup. As a result I woke up when the sun hit my face.Trust me the Sun does not hit your face at 7.30 am (when I SHOULD get up)
  • The only number I knew by heart was the home landline. During MTNL days I knew all my friends number. Now just one.Not even the Boy’s.Since I hadn’t taken a backup, all my nos. are currently lost.
  • I cant travel anywhere without the trusted radio in my ears. 3 days of bombat kannada music was enough and more. Give me my 94.3 and 91.9FM.
  • I tried calling you but it was unreachable-was a standard excuse peddled to me. Whats the landline for #$%? I used the corollary as well-I dint have the phone so couldnt reach you.

So how much of your life does your phone control?

Previous posts on cellphones here and here. Really old stuff!

 
28 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

28 responses to “Its not just a phone, its who we are!

  1. AB

    June 4, 2009 at 12:15 am

    u gifted ur boy E71 .. lucky him

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:28 am

      You would know!

       
  2. IM_VI

    June 4, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Not clear if D finally did buy the E 71 , but if she did how then can she call man as “silly creatures ” ??

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:30 am

      Ahh..the lost art of sarcasm…I did buy the E71 not because of its features but only because I was promised photos will be taken and kept as wallpaper (a promise which I must add was forgotten quickly once the machine was in hands of the boy)

       
  3. Mumbai Diva

    June 4, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Don’t ask. I lost my phone about a month back. left it in an auto……aaargh. I still don’t have all the nos. so i get all these calls with bright ‘hey dipika’s’ while I’m desperately trying to place the voice. it’s all very embarrassing.

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:31 am

      Yeah..high end voice recognition software-the ears aint so trustworthy!!

       
  4. Saumya

    June 4, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    R gifted me with an i phone …
    I went shopping one day… got loads of clothes, books and shoes… held them close to my heart..my precious bags… counted them before I left the rickshaw… and forgot the insignificant touch screen communication gadget gifted by the Life Partner in the rick… but mind you all my clothes,books and shoes were safe !!

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:31 am

      S@#$ you lost an iPhone? 😦

       
  5. kanupriya

    June 4, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    So, u lost ur phone? Yea me too wonder what life was without cell phone? How did we co-ordinate for any meeting venue then or how did we locate each other that time?How were we communicating about our safe arrivals, departures etc while traveling? And life without cell phone was not too loooong back!
    But sometimes I’m so tired of my ringing phone that I say, “wish cell phones were never invented”!

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:32 am

      My cellphone conked off and had to be repaired. I CANT imagine life without the phone!

       
  6. Arpz

    June 4, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    hmmm …. 2 days in Kannada land, and yet you dont meet the random “read-once-in-a-while-blogger”?

    btw. I hate having the cell around me. I usually leave the damn thing back when I need some peace of mind/ have fought/ just feeling like not talking. and have people sighing that Sony Ericcsson shouldnt sell stuff to me.

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:32 am

      Dude am in Kannada land wonly..we should take this offline and meet up!

       
      • Arpz

        June 5, 2009 at 12:17 pm

        Yep, lets take this “offline” on our emails.

        email moi at justkeepsakesdotgmaildotcom 🙂

         
  7. spamwarrior

    June 5, 2009 at 8:07 am

    LOL at the exchange!

    I have no phone. Just a new laptop.

     
    • WSW

      June 5, 2009 at 8:33 am

      wow..how do you live??how?how?

       
  8. Roop Rai

    June 5, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    u know i was thinking of this today. once upon a time, we had no cell phones and we kept in touch with people. we made sure we did. now we save all numbers in cell phone and if we lose the phone, we lose touch with people. i honestly have lost so many friends/ppl like that believe it or not. :/ i lost contact for nearly 100+ ppl when i lost password for MSN! ugh.

     
    • WSW

      June 13, 2009 at 12:07 pm

      tell me about it…i have halved my contact nos after the loss…dont even know where to get the remaining from 😦

       
  9. Hemanth

    June 6, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Even my Niece cant manage without her toy phone.. that keeps making all kinds of sounds..now when she sees my new E75..all that she asks me to do is play a song [:D]

     
    • WSW

      June 13, 2009 at 12:07 pm

      I tell you, aaj kal kids are born with a cell and lappie.

       
  10. Sarsij

    June 8, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    The days are not too far when cell phones would claim to have a rocket launcher and a F1 car dash borad inbuilt…..eventhough India will still not have a F1 track…..and even then people would buy it (read men!) and TV ads would make so much noise about the phone that it would appear as necessary as salt in your food!

    Finally…you made me remember my Pre-Mobile phone days……and even the days when I was away from India and without a ever-ringing mobile phone in my pocket 🙂 Nice Post!

     
    • WSW

      June 13, 2009 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks!!

      i know they are loaded with features which you would never use.My phone can do hazaar things, but all I use it for is
      1.call
      2.text
      3.radio

      But then am a dhabba on geek world.

       
  11. zee

    June 10, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    arghhhhhhhhh i can’t live without my cellphone. when i lose my network for more than 2 mins i start getting panic attacks!

     
    • WSW

      June 13, 2009 at 12:10 pm

      i hear ya, same problem till I went 2 days without one.And then realised its not fatal.

       
  12. Bullshee

    June 12, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    WSW, it really is devilish how you manipulate your boy like this! How you carefully prick the male ego down to size like this beats me!!?

    Are you the one they’re singing about when they say “Woah Woah Woah Woah Woaaaah, she’s a man-eater!!”???

     
  13. Bullshee

    June 12, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Oh wait…stupid me! It’s you who got manipulated. My bad!

    Your boyfriend is a smart man! Kudos to him!

     
    • WSW

      June 13, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      You think E71 was the end of the story..let me introduce you to Mr.Diamond ring..muwahahahah!!

       
  14. sraikh

    June 12, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Isnt it horrible when we cannot remember tel nos because it programmed into our cells.

    I have a G1 and I would die without the google calendar..all my appts, the kids summer crap is on there. Everything is sycned from my online calendar to the phone.

    That said, I went camping for 2 days and had no cell phone reception. it was bliss..:)

     
    • WSW

      June 13, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      Even if you dont get reception, the thought that the lifesaver is there in pocket keeps panic attacks away.

       

Leave a Reply

 
