RSS

Eat.Shop.Gossip.

09 Apr

I am reading Eat.Pray.Love by Elizabeth Gilbert though the focus of my life at present seems to be consumption of food like its going out of fashion. Last Sunday at a lunch with friends I was meeting after a long time, I ate so much I felt the need to be physically lifted and carried to a waiting auto. Right now as I type this, 3 slices of Dominoes best are doing a merry dance with a glass of Coca Cola in my stomach. (As soon as I hit publish button FF people will banish me from their group)

Weekend was much fun. I discovered Irla market in Andheri and went berserk shopping. Now I have a pair of shoes for 300 bucks which look exactly like my 1k+ Catwalk pair, but in a different color. Of course I can never ever take them off at someone’s door or temple etc because the underfeet area displays the brand name proudly as “Naicy Collection”.

Also Mumbai is on fire. I mean yes I lived in Delhi for 18 years and then in Kochi for another 4 so don’t tell me about any inability to bear the suns rays. But Mumbai makes this superb combination of humidity and sun that you just want to attach an AC on your head and roam around. And to get squished in that weather in a local. When you like a fool are dressed in black full sleeved layered top, jeans and sneakers can make you bid good bye to your senses very quickly. (Why I was dressed like that? Apart from trying to put together a hip hop look, yeah baaarfff…I assumed the entire country has Bangalorean weather).

4 weeks of aerobics later I hop onto the weighing scales to find surprise …I weigh exactly the same as I have done for the past 5 months. Which if I were the count-your-blessings type of personality should have me jumping at the thought of pizza slices and chocolate brownies that have not shown up yet. But me being me I was upset at all the hard work of slapping people dancing nearby and having my toes trampled by other newbies coming to a naught. I have no clue how to remove this plateau in weight loss and it’s bugging. It’s not like I am replacing them fat cells with lean muscles. Muffin top will soon apply for naturalization finishing 5 years of residence on the waist.

I am total celeb junkie. Like last week I bought a gossip mag because the cover said “Dino deceived me-Kelly Dorji finally speaks”. When I called up my friend Sur to pass on Kelly’s inner most thoughts ( as told to Stardust), all she said was Kelly who. Hmph!

Then again who can be stupid enough to buy 3 books at the airport book store? Who else but hehe..me?
So I have Eat,Pray, Love and The case of exploding mangoes( a Indo-Pak thriller, lets see how that plays out) and The Tipping Point by Prof. Obvious Malcolm Gladwell. Why do I keep falling for his pseudo scientific analysis?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “Eat.Shop.Gossip.

  1. Arpz

    April 9, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    u atleast burned off the extra u ate. Im just bloating and bloating and bloating, oh wait … the satellite guys are on phone right now .. they want me to move a li’l so that they can see the himalayas from up there. 😦

     
    • WSW

      April 14, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      Ask them if they can see the Arabian Sea or did the water splash out when i jumped up and down at Juhu?

       
  2. spamwarrior

    April 10, 2009 at 1:55 am

    Exploding mangoes? Interesting… enjoy the books!
    I kind of read gossip mags too. Not the best thing *winces* but come on, celeb gossip! =P

     
    • WSW

      April 14, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      I know!!Have to know..what Kelly Dorji feels about Dino no?

       
  3. Neo Kluber

    April 10, 2009 at 5:15 am

    the Muffin bit is hilarious superwoman! Talking about calories, BBC news on 6th of Apr was a shocker to many of us. Till then I thought pizza had just about 500 cals but it turns out a large dominos one has 2184 cal! thats our daily allowance of cals

     
    • WSW

      April 14, 2009 at 4:08 pm

      lalalala..I have put fingers into my ears..cant hear what you are saying or typing…

       
  4. Smita

    April 10, 2009 at 10:18 am

    First thing first where exactly in andheri is the Irla market located 😀 need to visit the place. The heat is actually unbearable 😦 Do tell how the three books are. Exploding mangoes i have been seeing in that rack of my book store but been ignoring it. Do tell kaisi hai. BTW gossiping is fun but excess eating isn’t. Control baby control 😀

     
    • WSW

      April 14, 2009 at 4:09 pm

      Both in excess arent fun!Sigh, why are all good things sinful?

       
  5. Solilo

    April 10, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I am another celeb junkie 😀

    I am even following Twinkle Khanna’s arrest and release. 😆

     
    • WSW

      April 14, 2009 at 4:10 pm

      Lolz..welcome to the club..long live sites like Dlisted, HHC!

       
  6. Banjo

    April 10, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    This is why I say everyone should visit Calcutta. And btw Tipping point is the best of the lot. Just don’t spend 10,000 hrs on it 🙂

     
    • WSW

      April 14, 2009 at 4:13 pm

      Insider joke.insider joke…on to tipping point then.

       

Leave a Reply

 
