RSS

18 till I die!

27 Mar

Sometimes all the dices seem loaded against you.Everything around you seems morose and bleak.

And that is time for tough decision making and a 25 year old has to do what she ‘s got to do. The same thing she has been doing whenever she has run into trouble from age 4.Run to mamma.

So with Friday off, I wipped out the credit card and excitedly opened my favorite travel portal.(Hint: it is not Ezeego1)Checking the prices I found a low cost carrier for 12k. “Fishing expensive!” I thought till I realised it was 12k one-way. Much chest beating, Mallya-Goyal alliance cursing later I was taking out 2 printouts for our national carrier.

I have never flown Indian Airlines before.But in my imagination the plane looked like the derelict admin block in college where we stood in never ending lines and were asked to return the next day many times over by the silver haired officer.

When the guy at the ticket counter greeted me with a” namaste, aapne i-check in kar liya hain?” instead of “good morning maam” with fake rolling of r’s, my imagination was already springing to life. But things were smooth. The aircraft was sparkling clean and there was enough leg space for me to not go on a 3 hour flight in a forced yoga position balancing the food tray on the paunch. The average age of the flight attendants hovered around 40 in optimistic approximation.

Just a day before I was comparing air hostess quality across carriers and was complaining the lack of attractive male stewards and the occasional pimple faced gangly youth on Jet Airways. The steward here must have been only a decade younger to my father and sported a head bereft of hair and a very fatherly paunch. No welcome abroad greeted me as women who looked like my English teacher from school walked the aisles checking for people with seats not in upright position and window shades not up.There was no uneccesary flashing of smile-in fact no flashing of smile at all. Does your mother smile when she gives you breakfast and tea?Most probably she would bark at you to finish the parantha she made by waking at 6. My mother did. And the airhostess had the same expression as her.Severe, one may say. When steward uncle finally bent down and asked what do you want to eat, I felt like the awkward teenager I was in 1995.

Soon I tuned in the inflight entertainment and what did I find.Retro hits-a blast from the past. After neighbourhood babies getting taught to call one aunty, another definitive sign of pending old age is when you see songs of your teenage on retro hits.

It was an hour special on Backstreet Boys.Ah, the time when one used to fantasize about Kevin Richardson in private while publicly declaring love for Nick Carter like everyone in your girl group .

So tucked in a comfortable chair with ample leg room, BB on TV and uncles and aunties providing food and beverages one became a teenager again. And that believe me is reason enough to fly IA again.

Which I am doing on Sunday.So much for a holiday.

******

The amount I paid for the flight could have taken me to Bangkok or Dubai. The passport which was made after much running around posts and pillars is still waiting a single visa stamping. Mail is checked furiously each day in hopes of a mail from exotic country asking for my presence without which their systems would fall apart. Obviously the countries are doing very well without my help,thank you very much.

An occasional login to the social networking sites shows 80% of my “friends” have foreign shores as their current location. Thanks to softwares or husbands that need to be supported.

So my official stance on all matters related to foreign travel is a stoic “Mera Bharat Mahaan”.Howarah bridge London bridge se kam hain kya?

******

In one of those moves which can result in much egg on face, I have also joined Roop in her Fitness fervor blog.The goal of this website is to bring together a group of motivated people who can share their enthusiasm for healthy well-being with others.

With a weight that has yoyo-ed between 48-65kgs over the last four years I do not know what I bring to the table (apart from the calories).But if someone benefits from my trials and errors then great. Also putting my goals up on net may finally cause enough shame not to binge on weekends after being a good girl the entire week and not to skip gym because ahemm…mood nai kar raha tha.

So do volunteer at firness fervour if you find something worked for you or you are generally enthu about keeping fit.(Rohit I am talking to you, I think you run log is pretty awesome).

So that’s all for now.See you laters,alligators (keeping with the whole back to teenage theme. No I never used that as a teenager, I am just trying to be cool.)

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “18 till I die!

  1. anwin

    March 27, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Hi WSW, was wondering if you are aware of the Delhi NCR IndiBlogger Meet 2009 scheduled for the 4th of April. Would be great if you can make it and blog about the event too.

    Please send in your ideas for the agenda in the comments section.

    RSVP – http://www.indiblogger.in/bloggermeet.php?id=33

    Cheers,
    Anwin
    IndiBlogger.in

     
  2. AB

    March 27, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Bharat Mata ki Jai Ho !

     
  3. AB

    March 27, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Bharat Mata ki Jai Ho, but u were very unlucky.You missed the inflight mosquitos offered by IA,AI to give that Indian touch.

    All the best for the Sunday Flight.

     
  4. Smita

    March 27, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    ha ha ha…that is the most innovative way of staying young, that I have heard of.

    But seriously ur observations about IA are bang on!!!

    Will hop on to the fitness blog….I need to be there πŸ™‚

     
  5. spamwarrior

    March 27, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Hahaha. I liked this post! The last time I went on a flight, I was about… I don’t know. I was about 14-15. This is American airline stuff (Northwest) and I’ll the flight attendants were in their 50s… and there weren’t any men. The few that were there weren’t very attractive. I do remember this overweight flight attendant who had trouble walking through the aisles…
    But the best part was when I changed flights from Japan to Taiwan… the flight attendants were all in their 20s, young and beautiful. There were men as well. AHHHhhhhh…. *nods*

    And I always used to be envious of people flying China Airlines. The stewardesses there always dressed so beautifully…
    Thanks for your comment on my blog and drop by again! I’ll check out the fitness blog.

     
  6. spamwarrior

    March 27, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    My post — It’s satire. I actually was referring to another post… but anyway I actually don’t have a wardrobe for all seasons… I only have a summer wardrobe and a spring wardrobe. And I don’t buy my clothes, I get them from my friends at my church when they don’t want them anymore. πŸ˜‰

     
  7. Rohit

    March 27, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Both time I went to the US, I flew economy. It’s a 20 hour yoga pose πŸ™‚

    Regarding Fitness Fervor, sure. What do I need to do?

     
  8. Hemanth

    March 27, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I kind of share your thoughts on the IA thing! I actually feel though, most of the PSUs are inefficient, unconventional and make you say “how sad”, EOD I just love the sarkari nature and the differentiation they enjoy from the other private run firms.
    Be it the aunty like Air hostesses in IA, the why did shld i give you money – tellers in SBI or are you a terrorist types passport officer, I just luv these ppl!

     
  9. Ava

    March 28, 2009 at 9:29 am

    When I last travelled IA, there was a cute steward on board. I guess I got lucky.

    You are right, the fares have not dipped a bit 😦

    I still feel like a kid when I go out with my parents. πŸ˜€ The best part is not having to dip inside your purse when its time to pay the bill πŸ˜€

     
  10. WSW

    March 28, 2009 at 10:13 am

    @anwin
    Thanks man,but wont be in Delhi then 😦

    @AB
    Aah!that was what was missing!

    @Smita
    aao-ji-aao, on fitness blog..anyways I keep telling you that you need share your weight loss tips..

    @spamwarrior
    These Chinese I tell you..

    @Rohit
    just drop a comment to Roo.I have told her you run blah blah..maybe you could do cross posts whenever you write about running etc

    @Hemanth
    Thats a new way to look at things. Definitely the aunties on board where different from the teenagers otherwise.

    @Ava
    you dont say…
    ya for my parents I am in a time warp where I am 6 years old

     
  11. matt

    March 29, 2009 at 8:22 am

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

     
  12. Ann

    March 30, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    I have flown AI and the aunties said- ‘Welcome Home’ instead of Good morning/afternoon. After 9 hrs of flying and hopping 2 transit airports i was happy hearing that. Then came ‘homely treatment’. We were made to watch shahid kapoor’s flop childrens movie on a common screen (so we cudnt change the channel), eat healthy beans ki sabzi for food and air sick children who were sleeping for forcefully woken up and made to eat, so that they dont suffer from acidity (now thats exactly wat folks wud do too!)..it was seriously ‘welcome home’. I have flown some national carriers of other countries too and the story is the same in all flights (old aunties and uncles throwing orange juice and bread at u)

     
  13. WSW

    March 30, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    @Matt
    In the Bot or human argument I have let you have the benefit of my doubt

    @Annie
    Wow!That is like home!
    Post something woman, dying to read your humor.

     
  14. Arpz

    March 31, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Aisho, you call 65 Kgs fat 😦

    I am doomed 😦

     
  15. WSW

    March 31, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    @Arpz

    For my height as per BMI standards that was borderline overweight and yes I was bursting out of my jeans and tops.

    And I really have no resolve, that is why I am putting my ego at stake so that I dont lose too much face when everyone else on FF becomes fit and svelte, by sticking to my ambitious diets and workouts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
