RSS

Why so serious?

17 Mar

So some serious posts were written and the publish button was pressed. The 3 faithful readers who came to time pass here also scurried away. Since inception the official stand of this blog has been “I write for myself and I write what is important to me. I do not care what anyone thinks. And I am above number of page views and number of comments.” Obviously increasingly I suspect this vision has come true and I am the only one reading this blog.

******

Remember how I had joined the gym to lose the kilos? Well I didn’t lose them. Maybe it has something to do with the fact I had only joined the gym and rarely bestowed my presence inside the gym. Or maybe something with the fact the days I did go in, I cheated by doing 2 reps of 12 ab crunches than 2 reps of 15 ab crunches. The instructor never commented. After all it was my gut hanging out not his. Or it could also be that after 20 minutes on treadmill I would saunter out to the Sweet Chariot/Baskin Robbins stall and proceed to stuff my mouth with rewards for my diligence in sweating it out.

So in an effort to find something more interesting than watching oneself in full length mirror and from different angles huff and puff on a treadmill I joined aerobics. Dance aerobics to be precise. This was a major risk considering Sunny Deol and your truly were given equal amounts of grace and skills when it comes to shaking the booty. In the first class as everyone else moved to precision and the instructor twisted his body into strange steps at alarming speeds and rhythm I was randomly throwing my hands and feet around to match them and in the process almost ended up slapping and stamping on the poor fellow next to me. If you thought the embarrassment would have stopped me from further visits you should have asked instead about the new muscles which my body generated over night for the sole purpose of causing me agony through constant ache and how much effort it took for morning ablutions the next day. But with a will as unshakable as Mayawati is to become India’s next PrimeMinister I found myself paying for a 3 month membership. Today as we were cooling down and the man asked us to twist ourselves into various imitations of a pretzel the song that wafted in through the speakers was “Sau dard hain..sau rahtein..” Coincidence?

******

As I was climbing up the stairs while coming home today, the neighbour was carrying her cute, tiny baby around. In a fit of never seen before neighbourly affection (more because the baby was truly the big eyed choo chweet variety) I proceeded to make random faces at the baby. Although he was clearly too small to understand any kind of language, my neighbour proceeded to teach him “Aunty ko hi bolo”. Aunty! Aunty hogi teri…wait a sec. I am 24 years older than that kid. Auntyhood has arrived. Truly and completely.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Why so serious?

  1. Smita

    March 17, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Ha ha ha …Lady, this faithful reader is still here with you and you write what you feel like, it is your blog after all 😉 lol @ your comparison with sunny uncle. Aerobics is something i love immensely and i believe you just need concentration to master it 😉 As far as aunty thing is concerned, sigh! Am senior than you & still protest at being called aunty!

     
  2. Rohit

    March 17, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    (raises hand)

    Present Ma’am.

     
  3. Mumbai Diva

    March 17, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    🙂 very nice.

    also read your serious posts:)

     
  4. Saumya

    March 17, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Aunty is nothing…I have got things like “Madam ghar me baby/baba ke liye toy lelo” :):) and ohhhh… pls ask Surabhi about Aparna, an Old man ,a cute young girl and a swimming pool :)!

     
  5. Pesto Sauce

    March 17, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    ha ha…..happens with me too, strange someone calling Uncle when you are in prime of youth

     
  6. Silvara

    March 18, 2009 at 6:07 am

    heehee – i’m so glad i haven’t had the aunty syndrome befall me yet (I’m still ‘Didi’ to those who ask :P)

    But yes the gym….a horrendous place that has been known to help you tone and lose weight. Good for you taking the plunge again (adn don’t worry about your unco-ness – i’m with you there :D)

     
  7. Roop Rai

    March 18, 2009 at 7:55 am

    oye aunty ji,

    i read you. always always always. so add 1 to the 5 above and include u. it’s 7 of us so far. 😀 that’s a plenty if u ask me. 🙂

    i love reading u. u have a good command on the language. you know how to put a point across by choosing just the right words and keeping ur posts nice and tight.

    no, it’s not just u reading. i do too.

    – a slightly older aunty ji ;p

     
  8. Saurabh Garg

    March 18, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Reader # 6.

     
  9. WSW

    March 18, 2009 at 10:05 am

    @ everyone who stamped their attendence
    Just when I thought my blog readers are legendary-always heard of never seen of, sI gets a show of hands.Yay!

     
  10. WSW

    March 18, 2009 at 10:11 am

    @Smita
    Hand-leg-eye coordination improving one day at a time

    @Saumya
    Sounds interesting. You could also blog using our earlier character of DG and now TG!!

    @Silv
    Hope I lose some weight instead of my patience this time around!

    @Roo
    Thank you for your kind words. I know whoever has commented is more than enough. Its just that every medium length post does take time and effort and someone should be there reading what I am dishing out.And these nos are some kind of validation that I sustain interest however shallow it may seem. Also because I do hope that some time in distant future this could be an alternate source of livelihood 🙂

     
  11. lostonthestreet

    March 18, 2009 at 10:57 am

    A new reader here 🙂

     
  12. WSW

    March 18, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    @lostonthestreet
    Welcome ji welcome!

     
  13. IM_VI

    March 19, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Me sure that there r a handful like me, who just like reading what u dish out and move on without marking their attendance..loyal readers its just that u cant count them..

     
  14. AB

    March 22, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Start thinking abt writing a book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
