RSS

The WSW wears Bata

28 Feb

It has been proven that shopping is to me what Juliet was to Romeo, Heer was to Ranjha and ShahRukh is to Karan Johar movies. Its a predictable cycle.Racks of well dispalyed sho…err anything behind glass facades draw me with invisible strings till I empty the wallet at the cash counter. Then on my way back home I lug the mostly unneccessary shopping and multifold guilt kicks in. But nothing that a nice chocolate fantasy at the nearest CCD cant solve. After reading a little too many Loosing weight for the dummies, I have learnt that I was a comfort eater and have gone beyond rewarding myself with chocolates. Now I reward myself with shopping and a pizza.And since one is of the body type that even thinking about a pizza will lead to increase in weight, the metabolism working at the same speed as Bangalore metro project, this means frequent upgrades in wardrobe not in style but essentialy in size. Hence more shopping. Its a vicious circle I tell you.

Anyways I digress. The issue in hand is the total non availability of a brand which sells decent reliable pair of footwear. Yes one day when I will step out of my Audi in my  Louboutin, I will remember this post and laugh but till then can anyone please suggest any other choices?

My old favorite is of course good ol’ Bata. Yes most of their collection is dowdy and grandma like but once in a while the CP store has some good ones in their Marie Claire brand. But here my second problem kicks in(whatay pun, I say). I cannot for the life of me wear heels. I mean obviously I can wear them, anyone can. I cant walk on them.Teetering and loking down on the world. Often I see wonderful designs on footwear and as soon as I pick it up , the 4 inch heel behind ensures I put it back at the same speed.

I once bought like the perfect pair with manageable heels and wow look from The Loft at Hirananadani. On my second day out in them the strap broke and I found myself hobbling near the Goregaon-Aarey intersection. A dragging heel can be seriously injurious to health when you plan to run across a high traffic road.

Then last weekend we visited Shopper’s Stop for their 51% sale. (It was a courtesy call, they were sending one mailer per day, the entire week) There one saw heaps and heaps of shoes from Catwalk and Inc.5. I have always felt Catwalk was a overpriced brand. Its quality didnt seem particularly better than say a Bata, but their prices definitely were. But in true foolish customer mindset I equated higher price->better quality. So at half price meant same quality-reduced price. I picked up a couple, forked out a decent amount of money and went home happy. Yesterday I wore one of the two for the first time. By noon the strap was hanging limply on the ankle.  If I didnt work a good 15-20 kms away from the store I had good mind to throw the damn pair at their face. I can still do it, but a good nights sleep has made the cobbler down the street a more attractive option.

By now I must have tried every every locally available brand and havnt found one which

1. doesnt give me a shoebite the first 3 times of wear.

2. the under-feet area doesnt get spoiled within a couple of months

3. the strap breaks within a couple of months

4. the footwear is ready to be thrown out in 4-5 months flat.

I do quite a bit of walking and use public transport and am not a heel person. Keeping these in my mind the only pairs that have gone on and on and on are the ones I have picked up on Colaba Causeway roadside. Does anyone know anything else-built to last? And yes, I dont intend to spend more than a grand.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “The WSW wears Bata

  1. Rohit

    February 28, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Relaxo — Hawai Chappals.

     
  2. Mumbai Diva

    February 28, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    agree!agree! i am looking for such shoes too. I’ve tried everything from the malls, to those string of branded shops at Linking road( next to and opp KFC) and the rasta ones as well. Either nothing lasts or gives you a pain in the foot. It’s God’s way of punishing me for the indescriminate show shopping I’ve been doing all my life!!

     
  3. Neo Kluber

    March 1, 2009 at 2:41 am

    try Crocs. I haven’t seen a formal shoe though.

     
  4. Smita

    March 2, 2009 at 1:01 am

    he he he 😉

    Girl u r so much like me 😀

    I have always been in love with Catwalk shoes for 2 reasons

    1- It is the only brand which has my size n choice
    2- All my catwalk footwear has been sturdy & lasted long (which is unlike me 😉 )

    Bata I hate as size hi nahin milta & if I do get my size it lasts too long 😉

    So just like u my tryst with good footwear is never ending so in few words no suggestions from me just some ramblings 😀

     
  5. Sunil

    March 2, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    try Metro Shoes or Woodland

     
  6. Roop Rai

    March 3, 2009 at 2:12 am

    from india, i’ve only had those fancy shoes from either metro or mochi … n since i dont wear ’em much, they’re alright.

    i have one pair of shoes though that i have walked in for seemingly centuries and i still have ’em fine … adidas!! gorgeous gorgeous shoes. so comfortable and I never even washed them. hmmm. god bless adidas.

     
  7. WSW

    March 3, 2009 at 10:18 am

    @Rohit
    They lasted 6 months

    @Mumbai Diva
    Same pinch?

    @Neo
    I hate crocs..they are..are ugly

    @Smita
    Even Catwalk didnt last!!

    @Bhai
    Havent tried Metro, Woodland costs a bomb!

    @Roop
    I have Nike air presto which I luurrvee..but cant wear them to office na..

     
  8. chandni

    March 3, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    I used to swear by Metro and regal at South ex…but the quality has gone down and the price has gone up…

    well, increasingly I find myself investing in sasta maal that lasts a few months and then u throw it away and buy more…since its not expensive one doesn’t feel the pinch!

     
  9. Deepti

    March 5, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I am trying to rack my brain..but I can’t seem to remember to possess a single pair of footwear which is comfortable for me:(..so I guess I’d be the wrong person to hand out any advice..

    I think formal shoes are by far the most uncomfortable..

    Sigh!

     
  10. Chirag

    March 5, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Try Aldo!
    😀

     
  11. WSW

    March 9, 2009 at 10:15 am

    @Chandni
    my rasta-sasta refuses to wear out after a year…shop shoes on the other hand dont last more than couple of months..

    @Deepti
    Formal shoes?Really?

    @Chirag
    As soon as you buy me a pair!

     
  12. Chirag

    March 31, 2009 at 11:39 am

    You asked for it!!
    You got it!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
