RSS

The 200th one!

17 Feb

Pat on back! Time to self congratulate! 200 posts in some 3 years!

One night in October 2005, when I was in Engg  after reading Rashmi Bansal and Gaurav Sabnis for a long time, I clicked on the blogger homepage and found that blogs are free like email and orkut ids! Once I knew that even if I dont make money I will not be incurring a cost either I quickly set up an account. If you knew my previous screen name and haunt it would be a sitter to guess what book I was reading at that point of time. Dont blame me for lack of creativity, at 2 am in the night(pre-MBA days) my brain was already two hours beyond shut shop time.

Of course reading those amaetuerish, foolish early posts now seems funny in an unintentional manner (err..not that I have started dripping pearls of wisdom now or have suddenly developed a fantastic sense of humor). I began with some random daily accounts, writing about CAT preperation, my half egg biryanis and even my graphics exam! Writing became more sporadic when I entered B-School because of all the initial excitement, and the general 24 hours-no sleep lifestyle one becomes accustomed to. When there was so much action happening in your real life who has time for virtual life (Err..does that mean now…scratch that.)

Somehow things played out in a dreamlike fashion towards the end of student life and I started my year long management trainee stint. Not once in my wildest dreams had I  imagined the cushy management job I was expecting would begin with a “redi” ride in rural Bengal! I came, I saw and I had to blog, just to keep an account of where all I went and what all I did.

Somewhere along the way the blogroll increased from a few and quite a bit (as you can see in the right). The more I read, the more greedy I became to discover these great writers online who could make everything from mundane office jobs, bringing up babies, weight gain funny, poignant or profound. As I read better quality work, I hope I succeeded in providing better quality posts.

I shifted to the wordpress platform in April out of boredom more than anything else. What I got was such a powerful tool that blogging became fun. I could track my readers, find autogenerated posts,analyse trends-I looked forward to opening my account everyday.

Today blogging has become just that little bit more than a hobby. If I get an information, I think about the suitability of sharing it on my space on the web. I generally write on on a Word doc and then paste it over here after giving it a reading (This post is an exception-I am directly typing it in WordPress). And I try to be as honest as possible.

Honesty. Is tricky when you are not an anonymous blogger. People who know you in real life read you. Your friends, people form office, your relatives. Someone can google up my name and come up with this blog. I cannot take down possibly offensive posts of the past and neither can I monitor my writing so much that it simply resembles fiction. I could as well start a topical blog if I wanted to play it so safe.

It helps I dont get a million hits a month (not that I would complain if that were the case) but I am still surprised if I find myself on the blogroll of someone other than a real-life friend. Why are they interested in reading me, I wonder? (yeah, mann main laddoo phut rahe hote hain fir bhi…)I do hope in times to come I get read more widely, average double digit comments and maybe somewhere down the line a book deal comes singing.

But for now, I love this customisable little space of mine which gives me a chance to get my daily fix of writing, reading, commenting, copy pasting..you name it..And thank you reader. It matters when you delurk and leave a comment. Makes the self confidence do a little hop and dance!

So to another 200 posts and then another!Keep dropping by!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “The 200th one!

  1. Emma

    February 17, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Thats hilarious. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

     
  2. Emma

    February 17, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

     
  3. Adi

    February 18, 2009 at 2:01 am

    Hi! I have been reading your blog(s) for the past 14-16 months. Right from the beginning I developed an instant liking to your blog. Even today I have your blog in my favorites list. So, congrates on your 200th post and keep goin’ strong!

     
  4. Silvara

    February 18, 2009 at 4:55 am

    Congrats! hope there are many more to come as well 🙂

    Founf myself nodding to your observations which is, for me, the reason why I read you. That and I enjoy it 🙂

     
  5. Neo Kluber

    February 18, 2009 at 4:57 am

    a big pat on the back for completing 200th post! Your fan base has grown exponentially over these 3 years I guess. The first app I installed on my iPhone is an RSS reader to get update from your blog!

     
  6. Saurabh Garg

    February 18, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Congrats.

     
  7. Smita

    February 18, 2009 at 10:20 am

    200th? Wow!!! May you sign that book deal soon just don’t forget your loyal readers then 😀 It is always fun to read your blog because here i find a bit of myself as well. Amen! To all your wishes. 🙂

     
    • WSW

      February 18, 2009 at 11:26 am

      @Emma
      Bot or human?

      @Adi
      Thanks a lot!

      @Silvara
      Thanks, I think you have a rocking blog as well!

      @Neo
      I think you have followed me from the start and really flattered with the iPhone comment 🙂

      @Saurabh
      Your blog still doesnt accept my comments 😦

      @Smita
      Me too whether you are book crunching or shop raiding…I totally identify myself with you too!

       
  8. Sunil

    February 18, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Keep it going girl. Signing a million $$$$$ book is not far away ( I keep on telling you). MBA was just a time pass

     
  9. Ann

    February 18, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    aila! 200 posts…congrats girl….i am looking fwd to read more…now that i have become lazy to write and blame it all on work!

     
  10. Roop Rai

    February 19, 2009 at 2:53 am

    they read u cuz they have to grow patience for u by the time you publish that book of yours!! :ppp

    keep it up darl!

     
  11. WSW

    February 19, 2009 at 10:24 am

    @Bhai
    Kasam Chetan Bhagat ki, book deal aane to do 😉

    @Ann
    I know, your frequency is now that of the Andheri fast.Hardly ever.

    @Roop
    How much more practice do you need?

     
  12. Atlee

    February 27, 2009 at 1:11 am

    double digits 🙂
    thats my objective before i start any post

     
  13. Deepti

    February 27, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Shaabash puttar!

     

Leave a Reply

 
