RSS

Shopping compulsive disorder

13 Jan

A Dior watch

A dab of Chanel 5

Bottega Veneta Campana

Some hair straightening

Online shopping at Neiman Marcus

A lil bling

A Jimmy Choo pump

Seems the only way to get so far

Is to marry Akshay Kumar.

Heh.heh.

There was a time when I was an impoverished engineering student in Cochin. Things were not monetarily bright at home and I lived on a humongous monthly allowance of 3k.This covered my boarding and lodging and food. And once a week flick at Sridhar plus food at Bimbis.That was 3 years ago.

On Saturday I bought blue-grey wedges from a Clarks clearance sale for only 2800 rupees. Is this tom-tomming of how we have risen on the purse ladder? Throughout my journey from the Juhu shop to home at Wadala I morosely stared at the pair I didn’t particularly want and thought about the money that would have bought so many pairs at good ol’ Bata. (Yes, I am still a Bata girl. I think their Marie Claire has good value for money shoes!)

Yes the new pair has genuine leather and is perhaps the first pair I have ever owned that didn’t cover my feet with shoe bite on first day of wear. Despite the heel they are soft and comfortable and the whole experience was the best I have had. But does that justify the money I coughed out? Money I could have lived off a month on just some time ago?

And this is not it. Over the past few months weekly visits to various shops/malls have eaten into my savings 1k at a time!

And now I have laid my eyes on this and they refuse to part away. Also wiping away drool.More here and here.

eqzoommsWhat’s stopping me from excitedly typing in my CC number and CVV number into the screen? The price tag which tells me that if I succumb to this and with depleting bank balance I will have to become Baba Vayubhakshi for the remaining month.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2009 in shopping, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Shopping compulsive disorder

  1. Smita

    January 13, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Shhh!!!!

    Am trying to stay away from shopping, don’t you talk about your shopping spree nahin to I’ll feel sad n tempted 😦

    On a brighter note, Happy More Shopping, may your purses be stuffed with so much cash that u never have to think before shopping.

    Pssst Please do say same to you 😀

     
  2. Ann

    January 14, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    !!!chanel 5!!! that is one indulgence which i acquired and it is totally worth it :~D

    i was at express towers yday, shud have gone to jimmy choo to check out ‘70%’ sale in Trident!

     
  3. Ann

    January 14, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    btw u hv to be vayubakshi only for a month!!..mera toh poora financial quarter ya ussey zyada lagega….

     
  4. Silvara

    January 21, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Totally with you there. Had to stop myself drooling….

    ohhhh….

     

Leave a Reply

 
