RSS

Woh kaun sa gaana tha..you know we used to play when we…

19 Aug

Do you have a thing with songs?
Like when you hear a new tune on TV and you find yourself humming it and then you run to the comp, download it illegally and play it a loop for days on an end till you can puke the next time you hear it. It will then be moved from the desktop to the black holes of drive D or F, where it will languish till one day you decide to make a play list.
You then dig into the ignored drives and wonder at your own collection and set about your task of making a new and interesting play list and play a couple of old favorites. Do you get transported to the time when the song was a favorite?
I do, without fail. I can remember the song playing as things unfold before me, almost like a movie with me in it which I can watch now in the audience.
I hide in the annals of my hard drive,( and this I really hide) collections of Backstreet Boys,Boyzone and ..ehmm.. Britney Spears and her hit me one more time. It always makes me see a 15 year old glued to the newly found MTV and SuperSelect with Nikhil Chinappa and MTVRequest (the one which Shenaaz Treasuriwala used to host,where has she disappeared to now anyway?)
Of course there are older songs which remind of even younger self harboring bumble bee sized crushes on Aamir Khan, Akshay Kumar and Rahul Dravid.(yes,yes, at a point in time, I was convinced it was him and him alone who is β€œthe one” for me)
Engineering has so many memories of course, of midnight pyjama dance parties and Manu’s collection of songs from little known Hindi films(“Kitni hasrat hain hamein tumse dil lagane ki”, which movie guesses people?) to Suni’s fabulous english collection. Even today “Zephyr”,”Fields of gold” and “Lady in red” takes me to my old room with the three of us sitting on our beds (before we had set them together, when they used to be vertically aligned) doing some work while the tape would play.
“Sathiya” which I would listen in the evenings on the roof of my first hostel-the convent. Clothes would dry on lines and I would be perched on a washing stone watching the sunset, texting and overlooking the superbly maintained gardens. Remember third semester when Tam movie “Boys” became a hit, and all we could hear was “sa re gama” and ‘inneke oru girlfriend”. Remember my own comp,and listening to Linkin park during most of my CAT preparation. The angry lyrics I think kind of added to the bitterness which had become part of my disposition. I also used to listen to many sad songs about waiting,longing,broken promises and heart break. I cannot sit through a sad love song now,it just brings back so many unpleasant memories.
“Hips dont lie”,the song which has bought this post. Reminds me of Summers placement, when after getting shortlisted left,right and centre,I was also carrying an impressive record of not clearing a single GD and not having any final shortlists, till GE and Dabur finally came to my rescue.
Khush would play this song and we would try to cheer ourselves.”Tokyo Boys” from the Fast and the Furious which would blare when I would come back from my internship. It reminds me of 8 pm locals,first class ladies compartment,Jumbo King vada paav,Bus number 186 to Vihar Lake,Nityas cartoons and Nitin Bhand, the big build all powerful call centre manager. I no longer recall names of telecallers but I can see them even now. Of Nitya and my talks on sales and life.
Rihana and Akon always take me to Poison, my first “disc” experiance. “Khudi” from Junoon to Prerana 2006. “Guncha” to Prerana 2007.”baatein” from Life in metro remind of being sandwiched in an auto with a drunk VJ and Panda singing along.
And “Pehli Nazar” which makes me see myself calling BF, asking him to switch to MTV now to hear this new song I love. And later catching the movie at a really out of luck theatre.
Even ringtones transport me in time.”Oyerin oyerin” from “Kaka kaka” my tone in Engineering to a really bad polyphonic version of “dil gela gela” at PG
Do old songs take you to some special place too,one which is held only in memories and are visited with the old familiar tune.Do you hear familiar voices, smiles, laughter or tears? Can you see yourself living, taking the decisions which would bring you to where you are today?
For me songs would always be that special key to turn back time.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2008 in songs, Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Woh kaun sa gaana tha..you know we used to play when we…

  1. Rohit

    August 19, 2008 at 6:07 am

    Just wanted to point out that it’s “Linkin Park” and not “Linking park.”

     
  2. WSW

    August 19, 2008 at 6:40 am

    And that is why we continue to hate word and other MS tools for their auto-corrections

     
  3. Anonymous

    August 19, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Good post..makes for an intersting read…as usual…

     
  4. Ann

    August 20, 2008 at 1:13 am

    Bijuria bijuria by sonu nigam for the class X auto ride to school!

     
  5. Arpz

    August 20, 2008 at 1:19 am

    touche my pal. touche. sentiments echoed.

    but I see my *ahem* music tag has not yet been picked up. (dont I love to nag :P)

     
  6. WSW

    August 20, 2008 at 11:05 am

    @anon
    thanks

    @ann
    ohh red omni,that “dude” driver

    @arpz
    wat about my tag huh?huh?

     
  7. Arpz

    August 21, 2008 at 2:50 am

    all in good time …. all in good time pal. Im WONE lajjjyyy person now a days when it comes to the blog. but me asked u cos you did a post on music, with which my tag would have teamed up so well πŸ˜€

     
  8. Atlee

    August 21, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Awesome post…
    Songs have some sentiments attached to it…Had never thought abt it

     
  9. Vaibhav Shintre

    August 27, 2008 at 11:29 am

    A great post as usual… Was thinking of penning down a post on similar theme and then came across this… Really well put… Keep them coming!

     
  10. WSW

    October 3, 2008 at 2:06 am

    @ atlee

    yeah so does food, perfumes and dresses

    @ Vaibhav
    am first to the post tho πŸ™‚

    waise phurst time since moving to WP am in double digits comment wise..you know how obsessed we blogger types are about that πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
