RSS

BLT Diaries- Men are from Mars and Saleswomen are from..

30 Jun

So we have entered the last leg of my sales stint (provided appraisal goes well, HR finally reads mail etc etc)

Was given a target of a cool crore and some. The regular TSO who handles the territory being handed over to me would have lost many a days sleep as he saw me trip over wires , and smack bottles off the table in expansive hand gestures. So he has held my hand and helped me take my baby steps into selling .

If you thought only volumes mattered you would be talking about the company pre-2004. Now we have various excels with permutations and combinations of the target which need to be satisfied as well. So we need how many SKUs of the product sold, how is the credit/cash scenario etc etc. Basically a whole lot of numbers to be tracked, and lots of targets need to be met.

So I hop behind my salesmen on their 100CC bikes for daily 70km+ journeys by the end of which the substantial behind wants to resign from the job and apply for a plush leather cushioned banking profile instead. My salesmen aged between 25-45 are all different. Some are shy where all the conversation comes from one side-mine,some gregarious story tellers. All with bare minimum knowledge of hindi. So we use hand gestures, repetition of lines ad-infinitum till either one gives up or the throat goes dry in trying to get ones point across.

The shopkeepers curious on seeing why any woman in her sane mind would jump behind bikes in oversized helmet and then proceed to grin foolishly as they ask questions in fluent bengali would then whisper conspiratorially with the salesmen. All in all its a man’s world out there with guest aberrations like me.

Had a regional meet-party to celebrate 20% growth in past 6 months-the co people, the salesforce and the distributors. Saw my previous distributor in neon red fitted shirt and tight ‘gins-pant’ swaying to an item number after couple of Fosters. Him being 6ft length and breadth wise.It scarred all present for life.

A salesman from nearby territory fell of his bike and hemorrhaged to death. He was driving at 80kmph without a helmet. He was also getting married in 7 days time. Gave a long lecture to my guys after the incident. Vigorous head nodding took place. Next day saw one of the salesmen happily pillion riding without helmet. Lost all cool.

I look at my appraisal form which asks me list examples of qualities like a global mindset, external orientation, real accountability. I really dont know what I will write in those columns.

Does putting all your boriya-bistar and yourself on a redi to be taken to railway station count? What about sitting in a room full of mushtande and giving them higher targets and lower incentives?Go from super particular about how I look when I step out to combining twice worn yellow kurta with red salwar because all your clothes refuse to dry in the flooded district you are putting up at? Eat dal roti every day and spend each of your evenings alone watching TV in a cheap motel count? Is countering the daily struggle to be taken seriously and not a passing guest who needs to be humored mean anything?

Some say this was the toughest, its all uphill now. i donnot know…if I should be happy to go back to my preferred decadent lifestyle or be sad about the each-day-new-adventure I will no longer have.

PS: have loads n loads of pics. However transfer cable is lying in Cal. will put them up ASAP

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2008 in BLT, life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “BLT Diaries- Men are from Mars and Saleswomen are from..

  1. Neo Kluber

    June 30, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    seems your life’s a female version of Rambo’s – really adventurous. This is a lot better than having to sit all day infront of a dull monitor

     
  2. Jeet

    July 1, 2008 at 1:18 am

    i kinda disagree with neo …………… i dont think i can imagine the challenges or the work that u need to put in just to get by your day…….. staying in a cheap motel, eating sad food, not having anyone you know next to you, nt understand the language spoken etc etc must be difficult…….. might be adventours for a day or two but then all the adventure may just vanish away……….. the only learning i guess u would get from something like this, is that u are now ready to take on any challenge that may come your way with ease……. will it be worth something at the end of the day………… i guess thats a question no one will be able to answer…….. but it sure will give u some memories that would last a lifetime……….. just hang in there…………… things would def change for the better……………….

     
  3. Saurabh Garg

    July 1, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Damn .. am so jealous .. I think you should really swap your life with mine .. ! 😦

     
  4. Aparajita

    July 3, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I so empathise with you, especially on it being a man’s world. People nodding their head thinking you are some ‘Marketing Madam’. The infinite chai/thanda/ganne ka juice. Deliberately dressing down to assimilate in guy’s world. Going for the Western Region Sales Meet, sole girl in a crowd of drunk sales guys. Well, I could go on. I would willingly trade places with you.. I understand the language, you see. Here, people giggle on my face when they hear my Marathi, which btw is perfectly fine and understood by all my Marathi frendz. Anyways BLT Diary update was awesome… Waiting eagerly for the pics.

    Take care

     
  5. IM-VI

    July 4, 2008 at 2:52 am

    Hopefully this means the frequency of posts by superwoman , also goes UPhill…

     
  6. JustSo

    July 7, 2008 at 6:08 am

    take care … and boy! (err… girl!) , are you strong 🙂

     
  7. Retard

    July 13, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Hey, hang in there.. I see good things coming your way..

     
  8. WSW

    July 23, 2008 at 5:11 am

    @Neo
    Rambo being bespectacled and helpless

    @jeetu
    more true than not!I miss metro decadence!

    @saurabh
    sure,when?

    @aparajita
    ur life seems as adventurous plus you are selling ‘macho’ engine oil!

    @IMVI
    me hopes so too…

    @JustSo
    dont delude me about my invisible strength even more

    @Retard
    U should start astrological consultancy-am in Goa while typing this!Go give Sunita Menon and likes a run for their money!

     

Leave a Reply

 
